BMW CCA San Diego Chapter Board Meeting Minutes for December 10, 2019

The meeting was called to order at 6:32 pm.

Board Members Present:

Lisa Goehring, Jim Patterson, Ryan Moore, Paul Silver, Rob Walker, Seth Hanson, Grant Kluzak, Greg Uhler, Matt Gage, Dennis Damon, Brett Litoff

Members Present:

Jim Lloyd, Lindsay Draime, Mahshad Nazerian, Arman Nazerian, Charlie Kaehler, Matthew Kogan, Trevor Haag, Mike Turpen, Rick Zampell, Tyler Johnson, Dan Tackett. Anne Littrell

Secretary's Report - Paul Silver

• The November 2019 meeting minutes were approved as amended.

Vice President's Report - Jim Patterson

• We have 19 new members and 20 lapsed members, for a total of 1529 members.

Treasurer's Report - Ryan Moore

- Ryan sent the financial report to Board members via email. The club is in good financial condition.
- Payment for the Thermal event will be made before the end of the month.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT - Lisa Goehring

- **Board Election** We will have our election for next year's Board of Directors following this meeting.
- *BimmerLife* submissions We need to submit some chapter content for the new *BimmerLife* magazine. People who have done recent events and have personal stories and high quality photos should provide these to Lisa before December 15.
- **CCA Recognition Program** Nominations are due by the end of January. We have an opportunity to submit a nomination for an independent shop, dealership, or member that has been an outstanding asset to the club.

DIRECTOR REPORTS

Autocross – Rob Walker

We have an autocross on December 14. This is the instructor runoff event. We will also present the volunteer and instructor of the year awards at the event.

Driving School - Seth Hanson

• **Buttonwillow: March 7-8** – There is a committee meeting after tonight's Board meeting to begin planning.

Equipmentmeister Report - Grant Kluzak

Nothing to report.

Newsletter - Greg Uhler

The plan is to continue publishing the newsletter until directed otherwise. The deadline for submissions is December 15. The next issue should come out in mid January.

Social - Matt Gage

- **Holiday/Year End Party** Matt and Tyler are planning an event for Sunday January 12 at BMW of Escondido. Dan Tackett will be creating a trivia contest for the event, covering the chapter and dealership history. There was discussion about alternatives, including holding the event at the nearby Mike's BBQ.
- **Driving Tour** Our next tour is February 23.

Wachsmeister Report - Dennis Damon

Dennis reminds members to save BMW related items to donate for the charity auction next May 17.

Webmeister Report - Jim Patterson

BMW of Escondido has been building a webpage on their site about our club. They have offered to build a new website for the club. Jim will be meeting with Peter Brecht to discuss this.

GENERAL TOPICS / EVENT PLANNING / REPORTS

Performance Center Event - Jan 25 - The event is sold out and a waiting list has formed.

Cars & Coffee – There is one every Saturday in Carlsbad from 7am to 9am, one in Rancho Santa Fe from 8am to 11am. Tyler will check these out to see which would be a better fit and we and select a date.

Karting – We will have the next Karting event on March 28.

Phil Thearle's Tour – Dan Tackett proposed we do a tour of Phil Thearle's as it's been quite a awhile since the last one. Dan will contact them to discuss it.

NEW BUSINESS

Bill Brecht Memorial Volunteer of the Year Award – we will take nominations and vote to select the recipient at the Winter Party January 12.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:23 pm.

Board of Directors Election - Conducted by Dan Takett

ELECTION RESULTS

The following positions were uncontested and nominees were elected by acclamation:

President: Lisa Goehring Vice-President: Jim Patterson Treasurer: Ryan Moore Secretary: Paul Silver Autocross Director: Rob Walker Driving School Director: Seth Hanson Equipmentmeister: Grant Kluzak Newsletter Editor: Greg Uhler Social Events Director: Matt Gage Dennis Damon Waxmeister: Webmeister: Jim Patterson

Director at Large (Assistant Equipmentmeister): Brett Litoff

The following positions were filled by votes cast for five nominees:

Director at Large: Tyler Johnson
Director at Large: Kim Dais
Director at Large: Trevor Haag

The election meeting was adjourned at 8:00 pm.